Figure Series: Painting Techniques (Online)

Deadline
2021-11-04
Rewards
Other
Online course
Description
with G Caruso Learn traditional figurative painting techniques with your choice of acrylic, oil or gouache paint. Opaque painting is the art technique that allows for the most stunning realism. How were the Renaissance masters able to paint such lifelike human forms? Bodies with weight, faces with subtle expressions, muscles with motion. We will explore the fundamental techniques, from structure to glazing, that make this physicality rendered through paint possible. We will look at the work of old masters to learn how to render and paint the human body, from skin color to fingers and muscles. Join the incredible journey of figurative painting and become part of art history. Figurative painting currently enjoys a lively revival in contemporary art. This fresh wave of figurative art explores identity, media representation, our relationship with technology, amongst other topics. But a common thread amongst the most highly acclaimed artists is always a connection and acknowledgement of art history. This workshop is a wonderful way to begin your own exploration of figurative painting, by gaining a solid foundation in traditional techniques in a contemporary context. Topics Covered: - Skin tone: color mixing, palette and shading - Brushstrokes quality, direction and shaping - Small details and the importance of shadow points and highlights Figure: Painting Techniques November 4, 2021 – December 2, 2021 5x Thursdays 6-8 CET Online (6pm in Berlin, 12pm in New York, 9am in San Francisco, 5pm in London) Cost: 160 Euros (includes 19%VAT)
Cost
Application fee
160 EUR
Application type
Online Form